top of page

Domestic Discos and Tiny Desks

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

A couple weeks ago, Jarvis Cocker launched a four-hour long Domestic Disco via Instagram Live. What could be better than my local musical hero bringing us all together via an exquisite taste in tunes?



When I joined the stream, brimming with anticipation, the video was blurry and there was no music. But there was an avid stream of devotees, including Gwendoline Christie of Game of Thrones fame, supporting him. And the technical issue didn't deter listeners, who were making good-natured jokes. “One too many G&Ts, Jarv?”


Last night, for the third disco, I slightly begrudged the fact he got me dancing to James Brown’s Cold Sweat only to announce there were just 10 minutes left. However, I forgave him when I was left laughing in my room while he closed with the parody remix of Human League’s Don’t You Want Me (an ode to our shared hometown Sheffield).





On a slightly more mainstream level, last night was Together At Home festival, curated by Lady Gaga. “I’m scared one of them will say, “We’re all in this together,” and I’ll punch the screen. The disaster of the Imagine song still lingers on the mind. But there was something of a delight in chastising misguided celebrities, a sense of collectivity. At least they’re trying.





There are a lot of celebrities making live music videos at home, from Glass Animals' process-demonstrating covers of Lana Del Rey to Norah Jones’ home piano concerts. And let’s not forget Niel Diamond’s legendary rewrite of Sweet Caroline. “Hands… washing hands / Reaching out… don’t touch me / I won’t touch you.”





Tiny Desk is another thing that’s been bringing me some joy. I can practice my Spanish with Natalia Lafourcade, boogie with Anderson .Paak (who can also currently be found uploading dance videos with his charismatic, pink-haired son). There’s Lizzo or Tank and the Bangas for a lesson in incredible stage presence, and even Harry Styles’ concert has a decent song. They are all performed in NPR’s office to a live audience of the staff, but made to be shown on the Internet, and so we can appreciate something with an intimate feel but which isn’t filmed on an iPhone.





The positive effects of live music on the brain are widely documented. But like video chats with my friends, although it’s not quite the same as being there, it can feel pretty close. These small acts of connectivity and community reminds me what I really miss about my old life, shared experiences, music, friends, family -- and what we can appreciate even more when things do finally return to normal. But for now, thank God for the Internet and NPR's extensive back catalogue.


Have you discovered any new live music during lockdown? Do you have a favourite Tiny Desk concert? Let us know in the comments!


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page