top of page

In times of change, let positivity be a choice!

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

Travelling from Greece to Spain just weeks before the quarantine began was not the easiest thing to do. In the end, however, I can definitely say it was worth it!


I'm Katerina, and I participate in the European Solidarity Corps program, currently living in Santiago de Compostela, Spain. The involvement in this program was definitely a way to test my limits abroad for a second time, after living in the UK, and I can tell you without a doubt that it was a great idea. So far, it has introduced me to the people that I can now call my friends and co-creators of the project “Europeans at Home” and our new blog "Art of Locking Down."

The initiative grew from our need to fight against the huge amount of negative and scary news that we watch, read, and listen every day since the pandemic began. As arts and culture lovers, we formed the project "Europeans at Home" as a way to spread positivity through arts and culture in the form of stories, news, and challenges via social media.


Why art? Because art is this notion that promotes creativity, and creativity can arise when a new situation is taking place (maybe as a type of adaptability). Moreover, art can be anything; not only painting or a dance move. It's hidden in the expressions of every day life.


I have learned that any situation can be viewed from a negative or positive perspective, as in the case of a coin that has two sides. And so it's often up to us whether we will choose the bright one or the dark one. So why don't we use this time to set new goals, alter and develop?

You've probably heard this a lot these days: that the new situation is a way of rethinking of our way of life. In a way, that's not far from the truth. New talents that we haven’t noticed yet might appear, maybe we have found a lost book, maybe a friend from the past has just called. One of the things that I started doing these days and I enjoy is writing a diary, so that I can keep my thoughts organized. This is also one way to record my reality as an aspiring journalist. In fact, I noticed that I am doing more things now, compared to my pre-quarantine life.


To conclude my introductory and welcome article, and on behalf of the whole team, we hope that during the next weeks, months, or however long it may be, we will accompany you with some lightness and provide some updates/ insights about how we can truly benefit from the current condition.


We understand that for many it's an incredibly difficult time and some days it's okay not to feel like "your best self" or be jumping for joy, but we hope that even on those days we might provide a happy distraction.


And don't forget! Nobody will "shake your tree"! It is great timing to choose how to gain and experience the happy moments that we deserve through every day (quarantine) life!



110 views0 comments
bottom of page